News UpdateTop News

Govt Decides to impose the smart lockdown arrangement in 20 major cities

Islamabad: The National Command and Operation Center (NCOC) announced its decision to impose the government’s ‘smart lockdown’ arrangement in 20 major cities to control the recent spike observed in the number of coronavirus infections and casualties.

The NCOC held a meeting under the chairmanship of Minister for Planning Development, Reforms and Special Initiatives Asad Umar. The attendees undertook a comprehensive review of potential COVID-19-infected clusters and hotspots countrywide – and identified 20 cities.

The cities that were identified for an increased number of cases include Karachi, Lahore, Islamabad, Peshawar, Quetta, Rawalpindi, Multan, Faisalabad, Gujranwala, Sialkot, Gujarat, Swat, Sukkur, Hyderabad, Dera Ghazi Khan, Ghotki, Khairpur, Larkana, Malakand and Mardan. Various areas of these cities where the coronavirus cases are currently escalating at alarming rates are being sealed to curb the virus from spreading and in turn ‘flatten the curve’.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *