News UpdateTop News

Government formed a “one-window operation committee” to resolve KE issues

ISLAMABAD: The federal government has established a “one-window operation committee” headed by Additional Secretary Power Division, Waseem Mukhtar to oversee and resolve outstanding issues of KE in the light of Supreme Court’s directions.

The other members of the committee are Additional Secretary Petroleum, Secretary National Electric Power Regulatory Authority (Nepra) and representatives of NTDC, KE, CPPA-G and Power Division.

The decision was taken at a meeting presided over by Minister for Energy Omar Ayub and attended by the Prime Minister Special Assistant on Power, Syed Shehzad Qasim, Prime Minister Special Assistant on Petroleum, Nadeem Babar, Secretary Power, Omar Rasul, Chairman Nepra, Tauseef. H. Farooqi, KE’s Board including Chairman, CEO KE, Moonis Alvi, CPPA-G, NTDC and Power and senior officials of Power Division.

An official statement issued by the Power Division states that the committee will act as ‘one-window operation’ so that all obstacles in the provision of smooth electricity supply to the people of Karachi within the specified timeframe maybe removed in the light the Supreme Court directions.

Minister for Energy directed KE’s management to arrange pumps and other machinery to pump out water from its sub-stations. He further directed the management to prepare the lists of those sub-stations where water entered during recent rains.

Sui Southern Gas Pipe Limited (SSGCL) will increase gas pressure for Korangi power plant which will increase electricity generation upto 100 MW to 150 MW.

NDTC has committed to expedite refurbishment work on Jamshoro KD line and complete it by April 2021, after which 400 MW additional electricity will be available to KE from the national grid.

Chairman Nepra briefed the meeting about public hearing of complaints against Karachi Electric in the light of SC directions.

The meeting was informed that Power Division has started coordination with Law Ministry for appointment of Nepra’s appellate tribunal Chairman and members. Power Division has already written a letter to the Law Division in this regard.

The sources said the KE Board also endorsed the decisions taken at a meeting held under the chairmanship of Minister for Power.

The KE Board after a detailed discussion on different issues of KE constituted a four-member committee, headed by Additional Secretary Power Division whereas Dr. Ahmad Mujtaba (Finance Division), Chaudhry Khaqan Saad Ullah Khan and Rohail Muhammad will be members of the committee.

The committee will hold its meetings every week to view implementation status of decisions.

CCOE recently decided that KE, CPPA and NTDC will initiate a tripartite PPA for additional power supply of 350-450 MW while keeping the financial settlement clauses in square brackets with CPPA-G’s proposed language. These clauses will be finalized before December 2020 in accordance with the decision of the ECC on KE issues.

The CCoE also decided that KE and NTDC should start taking necessary actions for transmission arrangements for supply of additional 350-450 MW immediately to ensure availability of power supply to Karachi in time for meeting its power demand during peak summer season starting from March 2021.

Finance Division and Power Division were urged to expedite action for finalization of ‘clauses related to financial settlement’ and submission to the ECC, to ensure that it is approved before December 2020, as any further delay would result in power shortages, resulting in massive load shedding in Karachi in the summer of 2021.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *